6 USA Events for Memorial Day Weekend

We have these events over the weekend:

Date(s)Name (click for details)LocationMult.
5/25Ridez For A ReasonJasper, AL1X
5/25Parabellum Car & Audio ShowClearwater, FL2X
5/253rd Annual Tiger Audio Mayhem ShowGonzales, LA2X
5/26SoundCheck May MadnessLafayette, IN2X
5/26Cincy Concert Car ShowdownCincinnati, OH3X
5/26Earthquake On Wheels IINew Kensington, PA2X

There’s a lot of fun, music, bass, and good people at our events. Everyone who loves car audio is invited and welcome to join in.

Keep our troops in mind and shake the hand of a veteran!

Welcome DD Audio!

Our newest Manufacturer Member is one of the oldest, most respected brands in car audio, Digital Designs. Thanks to Kevin Doyle for bringing Team DD to our lanes! MECA competitors may now list Team DD as an official MECA Team in their results.

4 Events This Weekend

We have 4 events cooking this weekend, 2 in East Tennessee at The High Voltage Show on Saturday and Sound Factory’s annual “Smokies Spring Slam) on Sunday. SQOLOGY in ILllinois at Mobile Audio Plus is SQL only, and it’s SPL only at the SPL Smackdown at Audio Anarchy’s Spring Showdown in Louisiana, both on Saturday.

Click on name of event, in RED, to see flier or graphic for the show.

4/6SQOLOGY Bloomington VIBloomington, IL2X
4/6Spring ShowdownShreveport, LA1X
4/61st Annual Team High Voltage ShowNewport, TN3X
4/7Smokies Spring SlamKnoxville, TN2X

Slamology 4X SQL Competitor List

The following are paid competitors for SQL classes on June 8-9th:

List Updated 6/05/19 @ 3:30 PM

Sound Quality
Chuck Whitney (PA)

Tom Meyers (IL)
Eric White (VA)

Modified Street
Joe Davis (OH)
Jared Knight (OH)
Mick Shuck (OH)

Marcus Derr (IN)
Scott Hall (OH)
Bruce Miller (WV)
Bramouse Muhammad (WI)

William Grimme (IN)
Shannon Price (IL)
Shawn Thomas (SC)
Kara Zimmerman (IL)

Ben Zimmerman (IL)

Natan Budiono (MI)
Tony Gutermuth (IN)
Emily Meyers (IL)
Mike Nicholls (CA)


Eric White (VA)

Bramouse Muhammad (WI)


RTA Freq Out
Eric White (VA)

Eric White (VA)

Natan Budiono (MI)

2 Events This Weekend

We have a 2X SQLOLOGY event in Clarksville, TN and a 2X event at Bristol Sound in Santa Ana, CA this weekend.

Audio Specialists is the host for SQOLOGY Clarksville III with Vinny Taylor bringing the ears.

This is Bristol Sound’s 1st MECA event, with Richard Papasin in charge of the judging lanes.

Check the Event Schedule to get the flier for each event by clicking on the underlined name of the event. All the details will be revealed.

2019 SQL and SPL Rule Books are complete

The SQL Rule Book has been finished and online for about 3 weeks at:  www.mecacaraudio.com/2019SQLRuleBook.pdf

The SPL Rule Book is complete, with a few edits since posted for club review:

We received good input from members, and made these changes:

  • Judge Points – now Judges receive 1st place points in their class(es).  They do not compete, but are listed in a separate Results event for tracking Judge Points, with score of (0) zero.
  • Cutting of metal/modifications permitted in M1, M2, and M3.  Please see Rule Book, Modified Division section, to review what is allowed.
  • Vehicle registration and insurance statement changed.  A vehicle cannot be shared at a contest.  Vehicle registration and insurance declaration will not  be required in the Rule Book, but a waiver must be signed declaring vehicle responsibility on the score sheet or event log sheet.  M4, M5, Radical XC, and Radical X vehicles are exempt.
  • MECA Members who want to compete at the World Finals Soundfest must compete at (1) 2X or 3X contest with the vehicle they are going to use at Finals.
  • For Radical X and XC classes, the sensor is placed in either the driver’s or passenger’s kick panel area.  These are the only 2 options for X and XC sensor placement.

Thanks again to the Rules & Ethics Committee for their time and thoughtfulness that goes into our Rule Books.
Thanks to the MECA Members who took the time to send input and thoughtful suggestions.

MECA Booth at CES 2019

The MECA booth at CES 2019 is #20448B in South Hall 1. Richard Papasin, Linda Kobayashi, and Allan Shaffer will be at the booth and walking the North Hall floor on Thursday and Friday. They will be at the CES Showdown event, Saturday, 1/12, with 3X SQL and SPL contests.